Ovo Rocks Rock Cake

While I visited my family in Switzerland, I also put time into my goal of trying all of the Ovomaltine products and during this process I picked up some Ovo Rocks. I also learned that my cousin’s wife also shares my Ovomaltine obsession and is nicknamed Ovo-martine.

Any-how, since I’ve already made Ovomaltine-scones, I decided to make rock cakes. I based my basic portion of flour to sugar to liquid to etc., off of Ruby Tandoh’s rock cakes. As a quick side note, I adore Ruby Tandoh’s books and writing style and am eagerly awaiting the third book Eat Up that she teased on twitter.

The recipes makes four, but you could double it for eight rock cakes. If you don’t have access to Ovo Rocks and European-style Ovomaltine, use Maltesers and cocoa powder.

File_000 (4)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 C (50g) Dried Cherries
  • 1 T European Formula Ovomaltine (or Cocoa Powder)
  • 1 T Milk Powder
  • 1 1/2 t Sugar
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • ½ C + 2 Heaping T (75g) All-Purpose Flour
  • ¼ C + 3 T + 1 t (50g) Rye flour
  • 1 3/4 t Baking Powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • ½ C Unpacked (63g) Brown Sugar
  • 5 T Unsalted Butter
  • A Little Over ½ a C (50 g) Ovo Rocks (Or Chopped Maltesers/Malt Balls)
  • 1 Large Egg Yolk
  • 2 T Brown Sugar for Sprinkling

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C.
  2. In a small bowl mix the milk powder, ovomaltine, sugar, vanilla, and dried cherries. Add enough hot water to cover them.
  3. In a large bowl mix the flours, first part of the brown sugar, salt, and baking powder. Now mix in the butter in with your hands until the pieces of butter are no larger than peas. Now mix in the ovo rocks.
  4. Drain the cherries and save the liquid.
  5. Gently mix the yolk into the flour mixture until it forms a sticky dough that can be made into a ball that sticks to your hands, add some of the reserved liquid if needed (I needed 3 T of it).
  6. Break the dough into eight four even pieces, placing them on a prepared baking tray, and sprinkle with the reserved brown sugar.
  7. Put them in the oven for 20-25 minutes until nicely browned.

Leave a Reply

