Ube Scones

I like ube and I like scones, so this was a natural thing for me to make. I had a leftover jar from making this beautiful and delicious boule. While it was fantastic, it also needed a lot of care compared to these scones which I can just make and eat for the same breakfast. None of the recipes online appealed to me or my jar (poor half eaten thing), so I made my own.

jkjk.jpg

I used a Steven Universe background for the picture in honor of Lar’s cake.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C of Jarred Ube Halayang* or Cooked Mashed Ube
  • 1 t of Coconut Extract
  • 1/4 t of Almond Extract
  • 1/2 C Coconut Milk + More if Needed
  • 1/2 C Flour
  • 1/3 C Light Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 C Cold Butter (Chopped in Small Pieces)
  • Some Coconut Milk Mixed with Water to Brush on the Tops

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F/200°C.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the ube, extracts and coconut milk with a whisk. Set aside.
  3. In a larger bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt with a whisk.
  4. Use your hands to combine the butter with the flour. Rub it into the mixture until the butter is small than peas everywhere.
  5. Use your hands to combine the ube mixture with the flour mixture. Add more coconut milk if you think its needed to get the scone dough consistency of your dreams.
  6. Place this mixture on a floured (or not, I used a cutting board) surface and push it into a 8 in or 200 cm circle. Cut this in eighths.
  7. Brush the tops of the eights with the coconut milk mixed with water.
  8. Take the eighths and put them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.
  9. Enjoy! I don’t glaze because I freeze the leftovers, but you can if you want! I topped mine with condensed milk, but this coconut clotted cream also would be a good topping!

*I couldn’t get fresh and had the jar in my fridge. Both work even if they aren’t the same thing, which is what I figured out when I subbed a jarred dessert for the mash in the bread recipe. It’s a fun world out there.

Leave a Reply

