#MarioMonth Honey-Shroom “Cake”

I’m participating in Fandom Foodie’s Mario Month (more info here). While I wish I could get real honey mushrooms, sadly I’ll just have to settle for run of the mill supermarket ‘shrooms. I used to play Paper Mario and the Thousand Year Door, but could never get very far as my Game Cube did not have an SD to save my data on. I no longer play the game, but I’ll relive my memories by making a Honey-Shroom “Cake” inspired by honey shrooms and shroom cake. This dish is not a true cake, but a sweet potato dish, as I thought the mushrooms would complement the potato better than a traditional cake (but maybe that would work well too). I left the amounts of sweeteners and butter un-precise so people could get them to their own tastes.

sdsds.jpg

Ingredients

Bottom & Top Layer

  • 1 C Mashed Sweet Potato
  • Date Molasses to taste
  • Salted Butter to taste

Middle Layer

  • 1/2 C Mashed Sweet Potato
  • Honey to taste
  • Salted Butter to taste

Mushrooms

  • 6 Cremini Mushrooms (Cut in thirds)
  • 2 T Butter
  • 1 T Olive Oil
  • 1 t Thyme
  • Salt to taste
  • Honey to taste

Instructions

  1. Mix together the ingredients for the layers in two separate bowls.
  2. Melt the butter in a pan. Mix in the rest of the ingredients save the honey and cook the mushrooms to your satisfaction. Add honey to taste.
  3. Make a triangle with half of the bottom & top layer mixture.
  4. Layer half the middle layer mixture on top of this.
  5. Place mushrooms on top of this middle layer.
  6. Cover this with the rest of the middle layer mixture.
  7. Cover this with the rest of the bottom & top layer mixture.
  8. Garnish this with the remaining mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

