Borage Lemonade

I really do love eating flowers. So when I saw a dried packet of unknown flowers in the spices section of the supermarket I bought it first and asked questions later. When I got home, most of the recipes I found online for borage required fresh flowers/plant parts, so they were out. However I also found that its supposed to taste like cucumber. My copy of The Lemonade Cookbook (my favorite source of salads) has cucumber lemonade, so I checked what they paired it with- mint. So I made a borage-mint simple syrup and mixed it with lemon juice and water.

jkjk.jpg

Ingredients

Serves 6

For Borage-Mint Simple Syrup

1/2 C Water

1/2 C Sugar

3 T Dried Borage Flowers

1 T Dried Mint

For the Rest of the Lemonade

3 C Water

1/2 C Lemon Juice

Instructions

  1. Mix together all of the simple syrup ingredients in a saucepan. Let simmer for 5 minutes until sugar is all dissolved. Let it cool for 10 minutes, and then strain out the flowers and mint.
  2. Mix it with the rest of the lemonade ingredients and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

